CG Architect’s interview with Joseph Kosinski, director of Tron Legacy

Tron Legacy was one of last year’s more visually interesting films. It wasn’t perfect, but it did provide some interesting implementation of 3D in a big Hollywood release. The way 3D was used here served as a method to differentiate the two different worlds the movie is set in. Recently, CG Architect caught up with him for a brief interview:

CGA: Now that you’ve directed your first major motion picture and you look back at the path that you’ve taken from architecture to commercials and game cinematics – is this where you always thought you’d end up?  And is this where you’re going to be for a while now?

Joe Kosinski: Yeah, I guess I would say I didn’t necessarily always think I would end up here.  I grew up loving movies as a kid, but grew up in an area where no one I knew actually worked in the entertainment business.  So as a career it never really seemed like a real possibility.  So it has been a very organic path for me – obviously starting with these parallel interests in music and engineering, which eventually for me I felt architecture might be that ultimate combination of the creative and technical sides of things that I was interested in.

The rest of the interview can be seen here.

Source: [CG Architect]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

